Home » India » Money » A system to deal with Insurance complaints – IRDA

A system to deal with Insurance complaints – IRDA

Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (IRDA) that oversees all Insurance activities in India has issued new guidelines for grievance (complaints) redressals. Although all life insurance companies have dedicated systems to resolved customer’s complaints, these new guidelines specify the time frame in which the complaint should be resolved and also its process. These guidelines are to be followed by the companies with effective from August 1 2010.

The process starts like this:

1.Every Insurance company must have a dedicated department in their offices to deal with customers complaints (if they are already not available).

2.Once any customer registers a complaint regarding the service, the company must send a written acknowledgement to the complainant with in 3 working days. This acknowledgement will contain the details of the person who will look into this issue and also the approximate time frame that it may take to solve the problem, maximum of which is 2 weeks.

3.If the complaint is not solved with in 15 days, the company should again send a written response to the complainant offering redress (rectify) or rejection of the complaint citing the reasons.

4.The written response should also contain sufficient information on how the complainant can move forward should the company’s response be not satisfying.

5.On the complainant’s part, the complaint will be deemed solved and closed, if the complainant did not respond to the company’s written response with in 8 weeks.

These are the guidelines specified by IRDA that will come into effect from 1 August.

Moving further, IRDA also plans to introduce and hence advised Insurance companies to introduce a  complete online system to register complaints, track the status of it at any time and close the complaint, if resolved (Update: This is now live, read below).

IRDA IGMS portal

For the benefit of policy holders, IRDA has launched Integrated Grievance Management System (IGMS) which can be used by users to register their complaints. But, as said before, policy holders must first try to solve the issue by talking to the insurer itself (this is mandatory). If only they are dissatisfied with reply of insurer (after 15 days), they should register their complaint at IRDA IGMS. You can visit the igms portal by going here. New users should first register themselves. Once you register your complaint, IRDA will escalate your complaint with the insurance company and you can know the live status from time to time by visiting the IGMS portal.

Note: The IGMS portal can also be user to register complaints against Non Life (General) Insurance companies too.

Also see: A website to register complaints on telecom operators.

Check Also

Auto Aggressive Choice, Moderate & Conservative NPS scheme preferences

There are basically three different auto scheme preferences that you can chose from under a …

33 comments

  1. lithiyal packiam sivakumar

    I am lithiyal packiam sivakumar is a LIC policy holder in branch-124, Bapu sadan sat nagar, karol bagh, New Delhi-110005.

    I have surrendered my 14 policies (retire and enjoy policy) on 30.04.2012. With in 1 week I reinstated my policies.

    Many times I have given a written letter to get back my original bond forms. Nobody had taken an action about my

    letter. Now they are telling me to make new policy bonds.

    It is very difficult for me to make 14 new policy bonds. I went and spoke to manager also. Nobody bother

    about financial expenditure. Kindly do the needful.

  2. I have a life insurance policy started on 28/2/2005 scheme ins-T-T-PT149-53-11. I have been trying online to know the status and detail of policy but not been able to access it. Kindly let me know how much I have to pay in balance and what I will get at maturity.
    Thanks.

    • Simply visit licindia.in and go to ‘Online Services’ and register your policy there. You can see the premium you have to pay and also the Sum assured value.

  3. I had taken a policy on my child’s name last year (2012). I had also paid its premium but I have not received the policy bond. The policy is a Jivan Vaibhav policy. The policy holder is Mukund Jha . I had paid its premium on 13-07-2012. Can you please tell me when will I receive my policy bond?

    • You should ask the agent who enrolled you into the policy or if you know the LIC branch, you can directly contact them. It shouldn’t take this long to get the bond.

  4. TO
    Branch Manager
    Life Insurance Corporation of India
    Branch No: 43E,
    Branch office
    27/3G.T.Road.
    Howrah.
    Pin-711104

    Dear Sir,
    I have opened in 0342 mohow indore branch one Jeevan surabhi policy now it is transferred in your Branch. As pear policy every 4 year I have to get 30% payment I have received my 1st due payment 1 weak of may 2007 and second I should get on 2011 but so far I have not received any of my due payment. So my requests please check on your bank that it’s clear or not and if it is clear please send me the clearance Account no. Because 1st April Company transferred me on Mumbai I cannot able to contact with them.

  5. Dear Sir,
    I am a policy holder mediclaim since 2007 with oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. This year My wife operated – cataract operation. Taken money from out side. Think that the mediclaim will come and paid the money. My all the documents are proper but the company rejected the claim only on simple reasons. my claim is not cont since 2 years
    see the given dates of cheque given to them and they have done mistake in date of duration
    Check dt policy duration
    2007 12.04.2007 12.04.07 to 11.04.08
    2008 18.04.2008 12.04.08 to 11.04.09 hear is mistake of
    2009 6.04.2009 12.04.09 to 11.04.10
    2010 9.04.2010 12.04.10 to 11.04.11
    2011 18.04.2011 18.04.11 to 17.04.12
    2012 12.04.2012 18.04.12 to 17.04.13
    They have done mistake in dates of duration in 2008 , also in 2011 in 2012 also
    How its possible that cheque date is 18.04.2008 and policy duration dt is 12.04.08
    As they are saying that this policy is from two years means new policy
    In such new policy some one have to do medical test as our ages are around 50
    Also previous policy and present are coming in continuation so how the policy is break
    This mistake done by company person and we have to suffer from this
    I have already written to grievances regarding this but I don know they will response me
    Name : mahendra D. Gajjar
    Baroda – Gujarat
    Claim amount Rs. 24001.00
    The people are only searching fault among the policy and the common person like me have to suffer. Pl look in to this matter and do the needful to pass our claim.

    • What is the actual reason for claim rejection? I don’t think there is anything wrong in 2008 but it doesn’t look right for 2011 and 2012.

  6. I surrender my sbi life insurance policy number 240***004 dated on 18/9/12, but i have not received my payment till today 9/10/12. Please help.

  7. I take LIC policy in the year may,2005 but till date lic not issued policy bond to my policy. I contact to branch office they told me that i have to visit branch office, please tell me why should i visit to branch office my schedule is very busy & i have no time to visit to branch office. Please confirm me whose responsibility to issued policy bond.

  8. HDFC Bank deposit the money I had made for FD, but he asked me without me 50000/ – per policy of the Aviva has Insurances | and it’s been 3 years, yet neither have I got the money, not have a policy, Aviva, who says you are out of money, and HDFC Aviva say that those who ask it, do so should be.

  9. one of my life insurance policy taken from aviva life insurance . they miss sale it me and change the product without my permission. now i don’t want carry forward this policy. they cheat me. the policy no-TDW-3065788 and another policy no – TDW 3073250.

  10. MUKESH KUMAR GARG

    I HAVE TAKEN OF LOAN OF RS 45000/- ON 27.10.2008 AGAINST MY POLICY NO 112447355 ISSUED BY LIC OF INDIA, BRANCH NO 124, BAPU SADAN SAT NAGAR, GURU RAVIDAS MARG, NEW DELHI AND THE SAME WAS RE-PAID BY ME ON 22.09.2010 THROUGH CHEQUE NO 889448 FOR RS 49320/- OF PNB, OLD FARIDABAD, HARYANA, TOWARDS REPAYMENT OF LOAN AMOUNT & INTEREST DUE ON THERE ON TILL DATE VIDE THEIR RECEIPT NO 84918 DATED 22.09.2010 AND THE SAME WAS CLEARED ON 24.09.2010, BUT TILL TODAY ORIGINAL LIC BOND NOT RECEIVED BACK BY ME. I VISITED SO MANY TIMES FOR POLICY BUT ALWAYS THEY SAID IT IS MISPLACED SOME WHERE AND WE ARE TRYING TO TRACE OUT THIS OR U CAN FOLLOW UP THE PROSSISER FOR DUPLICATE POLICY PLEASE ADVICE WHERE ARE MY FAULT AND WHO WILL PAY THE EXPENSES OF DUPLICATE POLICY COST.

    KINDLY INSTRUCT THEM TO SEND MY POLICY AS EARLIEST.

  11. Dear Team,

    This is to informed you that I want to surrender my policy (Jeevan Saral – Policy Number – 883154230) as I had already completed my three years with LIC & as per the rules I can surrender it after three years. When I enquired with the agent (Mr. Auti) about surrender he suggest me (I have got a call from 022-65289828 this number) they will deduct 1 year premium from my policy amount and I will only get the reimbursement for remaining two years. Is it so? There is no where written in LICs receipt which I have received on the time of open the policy and as per the rules there is no deduction in Jeevan Saral Policy. So please give me the clear picture about the same and give the escalation point where I can log a complaint against the Agent (Mr. Auti).

    Even I logged one complaint today (319234) which was also closed without any feedback. So please look into the matter and revert.

    Regards,
    Sachin Pawar

  12. Dear Sir.
    I have placed an requisition with ICICI Company for the cancellation of URN number allotted to me, as i am no longer interested to take up agency with ICICI on ( mention date) And the URN number given for me was IC111609100437

    Even after requesting so many times, they are not cancelling the URN number. Now I want to take up agency with LIC. I Request your urgent intervention in this as am not getting any revert from the former company for cancellation of URN..

    Kindly expedite your early action in this.

  13. krishnakumar bhatt

    Dear Sir,
    I bought a Bajaj Allianz Century Plus Life Insurance Policy on 7th January 2008.The policy details are hereunder:
    Policy holder’s Name : Krishna Kumar Bhatt
    Policy Plan : Century Plus
    Policy No : 0079884114
    Date of Birth : 25.06.1949
    Name of the nominee : Smt.Kumud Bhatt

    I had expressly told the Insurance Advisor and the Sales Manager that I intended it to be a Single Premium Policy. Since such dealings are based absolutely on trust and faith, I believed what the duo assured that they had drawn a single premium policy as I desired. The Premium amount was Rs. 15lacs. It is fairly understandable that no one, much less an humble govt. servant like me can afford to buy a policy involving such huge recurring premiums .I quite admit that I did not study the policy document which I ought to have done and avail myself of the look-on grace period .But then, as I have already stated, such dealings are done on faith and trust and I had no reason to think that that the intentions of the officials associated with so reputed an Insurance Company could be otherwise than noble and honorable. I had thus been beguiled into putting my life’s entire humble savings into an investment that has proved to be a disaster.
    Naturally I was sitting pretty with the assurance that I had made a wise investment and all I had to do was to wait for the maturity to reap the benefits. It was terribly shocking and surprising when on the expiry of the first year I received a premium notice. As it was impossible for me to pay such a huge premium, I contacted the local Bajaj Allianz branch office and was advised that to save the policy from being lapsed I could pay a reduced premium of Rs.25000/- which since I had no option, I complied and I paid the third mandatory premium also which fell due on 7th January 2010.
    I have received a premium notice requiring me to remit the fourth premium falling due on 7th January 2011.I have also been advised that as against my total deposits to the tune of Rs 15,50,000/-with the Bajaj Allianz, the fund value has dwindled to somewhere around Rs.8,50000/-.I understand that Unit linked policy plans are market based but even though there was a bad crash in the year 2008, the market has picked up steadily since and not only all the earnings of the units allocated to me but a sizeable chunk of my deposits also is being eaten up by mortality and policy administration charges based on the sum assured that is Rs. 7500000/- the first year and, what is more ,these charges have continued to be outrageously high during the second and the third year also even though the sum assured in the second and the third year has fallen from Rs. 75lacs to a pathetic 1.25lacs.It is neither judicious nor logical to grind remorselessly into the hard earned deposits of the policy holder. This is no short of the breach of the basic principle and spirit of the Insurance plan, namely, to provide financial security to the policy holder. Why, if I continue the policy, at the rate at which the company is making outrageous deductions from my deposits, at maturity I might end up having to pay much more than I deposit and may be, still owe something to the company. Can you, sir, call it a fair deal?
    Surely, the Company has earned on my deposits and if the company does not, for reasons best known to it, intend to make me a sharer in profits it can at least cut my losses. It is about time the Company reviewed my case in less commercial and more humanitarian spirit so as to foster and restore trust so essential for an insurance company.
    I request you kindly to look into the illogical deductions and advise me as to the courses open to me, the rectifications to my account, if any, already made or planned to be made and the wisdom or otherwise to continue the policy. I am looking up to you as a sincere financial advisor and a noble custodian of my funds and shall be deeply pained if I am eventually made to think otherwise. An early response is eagerly awaited.

    Sincerely,
    K.K. Bhatt,
    Chimsya Naula,
    G.I.C. Road, Pithoragarh ,
    Uttarakhand

  14. Which officer ( designation) should be made party in the complaint lodged against SBI Life Insurance in consumer Forum?

  15. shavirak vinod gupta

    respected sir/madam i took lic policy in 02/03/1992 which was lost before2 months how could i take duplicate policy.

  16. I have worked as advisor with ING vysys for 3 yrs, and aplied for renewal of my licence a year and a half ago. I am yet to get my licence renewed of both life and non-life from them. IRDA is not responding . whom should I complain to? Is there no authority who looks after the interest of the agents, or is all these companies free to use and abuse us

  17. DALBIR SIGH SANGWAN

    Dear sir
    i paid a 16700/cash bajaj aaliaze moter vehicle insurance i pursage new vehicle eicher 1059 comercial vehicle 3-5-2010 &paid cash paiment insurance .i recived a caver not only cover not no-BZ0803692106 ,SIR no a reivavd policy till date and bajaj allianze insurance co. toll free no 1800225858 no recored is cover not no. agent no 1102

  18. Sri Ganesh Bahadur Chetry

    Respected Sir, Dt. 02/09/2010

    I have purchase a LIC of India Health Plus Plan Policy Last Dated 22/08/2009 From LIC Digboi Brance (ASSAM) , But still I have not received My “Welcome Kit” (Health Card & Guideline ect) There fore I do not know about this policy covers and procedure of Claim.

    I already complain so many time verbally to Branch Manager LIC Digboi Branch & also Jorhat Divisional Manager .But they are not respond my complain.

    There for, I request you to kindly look into the matter and took necessary action as soon as possible.

    My policy detail are given Below.
    Name- Sri Ganesh Bahadur Chetry
    Policy NO. 443805168
    Mailing add.-Near Tipam T.E.
    Duliajan Road
    PO- Digboi , Dist- Tinsukia (ASSAM)
    Pin- 786171

  19. Sir
    i had a policy in aviva which was sold to me by a agent Named Jay Thakkar from Surat
    who is now working as SM in Ahmedabad SBI life .
    I m just informing to all he is a very big cheater and dont belive his words as he use to sell
    the insurance products by saying us some great lies about our returns and we will be paying cont. and he will b getting his agent commission always and when we talk with the
    operations ppl they will not respond and they will say someother stories.i ve got a loss of 1 lak from which i payed and they returned the money but these private insurance companies are all cheating ppl. If any one interseted to know more about this agent do mail me and so i could also give his agent code.
    Any one pls suggest how i could make a complaint about this agent to the Govt. of India
    so that atleast here and after this cheating could be stopped by this person.

    He is a very big cheater
    pls all b aware of him
    gopjilp

  20. I am writing this complaint with great despair and utter anger. This complaint is regarding the entire management of IFFCO TOKIO are working under.
    I am having spark car bearing number HP 03-3740. I met with an accident on 08/07/2010 in Chandigarh. I went to Dynamic Motors Chandigarh for repair. They contacted your legally appointed surveyor Mr. Pukhraj in chandigarh for the same. I am shocked and appalled at the type of service you guys are providing to the customers and I ensure that you have lost me as an customer. This chap named Mr. Pukhraj is the most pathetic and un-civilized guy I have ever came across till date.
    After my frequent requests this guys till date has not forwarded my claim. The amount stands at —-. It has been now 2 months that I am running office to office for my claims but till date nothing has been done.
    I am a working as a Manager in Software Company in Chandigarh and will sue this guy as the main party and Iffco Tokio management as the second party as you all are responsible for the type of service you are offering to the cutomers. I have also asked all my fellow colleagues that none takes up your insurance policy. Those having will surely not renew with you in future coming years.
    I, therefore am taking this case to a legal forum front now as I am not sure if I’ll get my claims back.
    I am fed up with your management and this guy named “Pukhraj” When i contact the Shimla office then they say that my case has not been registered as yet. When I call my surveyor then this guy never responds well and tells hell lot of lies and tries to convince me on false basis.
    I am forwarding the same copy at the consumer forum and District Grievances forum and also marking a cc copy to the Insurance Regulatory Authority of India IRDA for further course of action.
    The other details are as under:
    Surveyor Name: Mr. Pukhraj.
    Phone Number :98140-01375 – He never reverts back to the call or simply switches off his cell.
    This is my last attempt to get my case resolved and I will not wait more than 24 hours to get it resolved.
    With utter regrets ,
    Vikas Saroch

  21. dear team,
    I HAVE TAKE ONE GENERAL INSURANCE POLICY FROM “ROYAL SUNDARAM GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY.”BUT THE VEHICLE IS RUNNING IN THE GOODS CARRIGE,MY VEHICLE IS TATA SE 1613,WHICH CAN THEY ARE INSURED IN TO THE MISCELENIOUS CLASS VEHICAL.
    THE COMPANY WILL CONSTANT ISSUE MIS-D POLICY OF ALL THIS VEHICLE SO IS THIS LEGAL POLICY OR NOT.PLEASE CONFIRM ME.
    THE POLICY ISSUE OFFICE IS AT BARODA,GUJARAT BRANCH.AND THE AGENT PHONE NUMBER IS VIJAY PATEL=9426335103

  22. I took two wheeler loan from Insurance agent id 10012559 after chasing a lot Bajaj Allianz issued me insurance toady as it should have been issued long back. The agent took the premium amount as Rs1400 but the company issued the Insurance certificate for premium amount of Rs 1143 and the agent says that the difference amount is his incentive which is totally incorrect. Please take appropriate action to resolve this.

  23. Sir,
    sorry to inform that my husband died on 14.10.1990, was a holder of lic insurance policy no.410416645 .

    since then i have received no information about it. so kindly help me out and do the needfull.

    Shanti bharati

  24. Dear sir
    ihave purchased a health insurence policy no.140400/48/09/41/00004564
    from united india insurence co ltd.
    i claimed for rs 1000/ on 31-03-2010
    still the case is pending . company is not hearing me .
    they are not replying my letters.
    kindly do the needfull so that i feel comfortable

  25. jagdish singh pundir

    i had running a general insurance of my commercial vehicle no. H P 23B 1184 bearing policy no.272100/31/2008/1846 dated 10/05/2007 to 09/05/2008 with oriental general insurance. I did t ever miss a single premium of respective policy . Now when my vehicle got through an accident , the agents and the company didt giving me any claim of that. The office of the broker has the address 2/13,14, sarai zuraina , New delhi and the concerning person mr. shivam’s no. is 011-26915766. My file no. is 732/2007. The company and the agents are continously harassing me and nobody giving me any coporation. I request u to please do the needful for me.
    thanks & regards
    jagdish singh pundir
    09671684645 , 09888046826

  26. Gautam Shamrao Gawane

    Hon’ble sir This is 2 bring 2 ur kind notice that i had taken Aviva life insurance policy in 2008 my first annual premium was Rs 2 lakh But due 2 major problem in mining sector in karnataka i have suffered loss time and again i am requesting for refund But 2 my suprise there is nun in my company 2 attend my redressal kindly please uphold da rule of our land
    Product name Pension plus unit linked Policy no APG1875008 Dated 22 feb 2008 issuing office chennai

  27. One of my life insurance policy taken from LIC of India is matured on 24 of June 2010. The maturity value is Rs.5 lakhs. There was never a delay in premium nor I’ve taken any loan against this policy. Yet, I was only paid Rs.4.35 lakhs. Repeated calls to LIC customer wont solve the problem. Please advice how should I proceed?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *